ASET ( Association of Science Education in Taiwan ) was initiated by a group of Taiwan science educators in 1988 to promote science education research quality levels and enhance the connection among researchers and various academic institutes.


The first President was Professor Kuan-Cheng Yang ( 楊冠政 ) , and subsequent leaders include His-Mu Lu ( 呂溪木 ) , Kan-Pei Wang ( 王亢沛 ) , Ho She ( 施河 ) , Hsiang-Chuan Liu ( 劉湘川 ) , Chao-Tee Chen ( 陳昭地 ) , Chorng-Jee Guo ( 郭重吉 ) , Yung-Jing Cheng ( 鄭湧涇 ) , Hey-Por Chang ( 張惠博 ) , Huann-Shyang Lin ( 林煥祥 ) , Ching-Yang Chou ( 周進洋 ) , Mei-Hung Chiou ( 邱美虹 ) , Chun-Yen Chang ( 張俊彥 ) , Hsiao-Lin Tuan ( 段曉林 ) , Sheau-Wen Lin(林曉雯), Hsiao-Ching She(佘曉清) , Yu-Ling Lu (盧玉玲), Tzu-Hua Wang ( 王子華 ) and the present President Shiang-Yao Liu ( 劉湘瑤) .

Currently the association includes Board of Directors, Board of Supervisors, General Assembly, and various committees such as Awards, Academic, International, Publications, and Activities committees to enhance the development of the association.  ASET members participate in domestic and international science education research very actively. Among ASET members, there are many distinguished research recipients from the National Research Council (Taiwan), and many are involved in academic administration such as international journal editors, and editorial board members.


The official publication of ASET is the 「Chinese Journal of Science Education」, with the first volume published in 1993, has been indexed in the Taiwan Social Science Citation Index ( TSSCI ) since 2008. The most current CJSE ( Volume 28 ) is publishing 4 issues in 2020. Every December the association holds the Annual Conference in Taiwan, and we are now preparing for the 36th Annual International Conference in National Kaohsiung Normal University.


Printer Friendly